Meet Kim Detterbeck, Our New Art Librarian

Kim Detterbeck the new Art Librarian

Art Librarian Kim Detterbeck

Greetings! I’m Kim Detterbeck, the new Art Librarian at Purchase College Library.

I am thrilled to be here at Purchase where the arts are an integral part of the academic experience and creativity abounds.  I originally hail from New Jersey but am coming to Purchase from Frostburg State University, in Western Maryland, where I was the Visual Arts Reference and Instruction Librarian.  I have also held positions at the National Gallery of Art Library and University of Maryland’s Art and Architecture Library, where I earned my master’s degree in library and information science in 2009. I also hold a bachelor’s and master’s degree in art history from Rutgers University (2005) and Syracuse University (2007) respectively.  I am an active member of the Art Libraries Society of North America where I recently presented on my work with the Restoring Ancient Stabiae Project.

I am delighted to start working with faculty and students in art, art history and arts management and to become a part of the arts community here on campus.

What can I do for you?

Faculty: help you find books, articles, and other resources; purchase books for the collection and electronic resources to support teaching and research; contribute meaningful resources to your Moodle course pages; provide formal  in-class instruction and/or informal information sessions to teach your students how to use all of the resources available to them.

Graduate students: help you find books, articles, and other resources for your coursework, thesis, or project; discuss your research topics to help you find appropriate resources and focus your search for materials; purchase books for the collection to support research and projects; provide guidance on your intellectual property rights as an artist.

–Undergraduate students: provide an overview of what’s available to you here at Purchase (books, journals, electronic resources, etc.); teach you how to use these resources effectively to improve your papers and projects (including your Senior Project); teach you how to properly cite materials; provide guidance on your intellectual property rights as an artist; help you determine which resources will be most useful for your needs; show you tips and tricks to save you time and energy.

In a nutshell, if there’s something you need, I can help you find it.

If we don’t already own it, I can figure out how to get it for you. If there’s something you don’t know how to do, I can teach you. If you’ve got an idea for a paper or project, but don’t know where to start, I’m happy to help.

Please feel free to email me (kimberly.detterbeck@purchase.edu), call me (914-251-6406) or stop by to see me in the library anytime.  Once I get settled in, I hope to start holding regular office hours.

Arcimboldo painting "The Librarian"

Giuseppe Arcimboldo (Italian, ca. 1527-1593). The Librarian (Wolfgang Lazius), ca. 1562. Oil on canvas. © Skoklosters Slott, Stockholm

 

Posted on March 8, 2011, in reference, Resources. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,465 other followers

