Category Archives: databases

Doing Research? Check out our Current Database Trials

The following databases are available on a trial basis:

Radio microphone, 1948 Film cameraman, c.1930 Jimi Hendrix Keeping up with showbiz news
[images from Entertainment Industry Magazine Archive]

  • Art Source
    Developed from a merger of high-quality databases from EBSCO Publishing and H.W. Wilson, and including many unique sources that were never previously available, this database covers a broad range of related subjects, from fine, decorative and commercial art, to various areas of architecture and architectural design. [Trial ends April 19, 2013.]
  • EBSCO eBook Academic Collection
    This growing subscription package contains a large selection of multidisciplinary eBook titles representing a broad range of academic subject matter. More than 113,000 titles are included, all with unlimited user access and downloading capabilities. [Trial ends April 13, 2013.]

  • Entertainment Industry Magazine Archive
    An archival research resource containing the essential primary sources for studying the history of the film and entertainment industries, from the era of vaudeville and silent movies through to 2000. The core US and UK trade magazines covering film, music, broadcasting and theater are all included, together with film fan magazines and music press titles. [Trial ends March 30, 2013.]

  • Silent Films Online
    Brings together films that represent the basis of modern cinematic technique and film theory. Carefully curated with ASP’s Video Advisory Board, the database covers silent features, serials, and shorts from the 1890s to the 1930s. [Trial ends April 13, 2013.]

Let us know if you have any comments/feedback on these trials, or would like us to trial another database. Check out all of our subscription databases, or find databases by subject.

Databases on Trial

The following databases are currently available for a limited time. Please let us know if you have any comments or feedback about any of these databases, or if you have suggestions for more trials. To access the databases that the library subscribes to, go to the Databases page or the Research by Subject page.


ARAS Online
The Archive for Research in Archetypal Symbolism (ARAS) is a an archive of mythological, ritualistic, and symbolic images from all over the world and from all epochs of human history. It contains about 17,000 photographic images, each cross-indexed, individually mounted, and accompanied by scholarly commentary. The commentary includes a description of the image with a cultural history that serves to place it in its unique historical and geographical setting. [Trial ends February 21, 2013.]

Art Source
Developed from a merger of high-quality databases from EBSCO Publishing and H.W. Wilson, and including many unique sources that were never previously available, this database covers a broad range of related subjects, from fine, decorative and commercial art, to various areas of architecture and architectural design. [Trial ends April 19, 2013.]

eBook Academic Collection
Unlimited access to over 97,000 ebooks, representing a broad range of academic subject matter. Categories include Art, Business, Computer Science, Health, History, Law, Literature & Criticism, Philosophy, Political Science, Psychology, Social Sciences, and more. [Trial ends March 3, 2013.]

LibraryMusicSource.com
Access to over 300,000 pages of sheet music from the collections of CD Sheet Music™ and Orchestra Musician’s Library™. Includes more than 35,000 titles, and a huge selection of vocal music, instrumental solos, piano music, orchestral parts and more. Download a copy to keep – print it as many times as you’d like. [Trial ends February 23, 2013.]

Like comics and graphic novels? Check out the database, Underground and Independent Comics!

Underground & Independent Comics, Comix, and Graphic NovelsUnderground and Independent Comics is the first-ever scholarly online collection for researchers and students of adult comic books and graphic novels. Beginning with the works that inspired the first underground comix from the 1960s and encompassing modern sequential artists such as Dan Clowes and Los Bros. Hernandez, this resource shows the evolution and development of an art form.  This collection documents the entire spectrum of underground and independent North American and European comics and graphic novels and will contain 75,000 pages of original material from the 1950s to today along with more than 25,000 pages of interviews, commentary, theory, and criticism from journals, books, and magazines, including The Comics Journal.

Also included in this collection is The Seduction of the Innocent by Dr. Frederick Wertham—the book that led to one of the largest censorship programs in US history—and the complete transcripts of the senate subcommittee hearings that birthed the Comics Code Authority and, inadvertently, the underground comix movement.

This database offers a variety of ways to access full text content of entire comic books, graphic novels, and secondary literature. You can browse by Characters, Genres, People, Publisher, Series and Titles, Subjects or The Comics Journal. You can also conduct a search by a number of different categories including title, artist gender, material type, color, editor, character, character gender, character species, and more.

The library also has a print collection of manga, comic books, and graphic novels, housed on the main floor right beforegraphic novels the DMZ. This collection, organized by series title, is easy to browse and is fully circulating.

Library Services Over Winter Break

Taking an online course this winter session? Just want to know how to get research help over break? Here’s all you need to know.

In-person @ the Library

The Library’s full winter break hours are listed here: http://purchase.libguides.com/hours, but in general we’re open Mondays – Fridays on reduced hours. We’re closed on weekends and all days between December 22 and January 1.
Although the reference desk won’t be staffed over break, you can make an appointment with a librarian by emailing lib.reference@purchase.edu or texting us at 914-873-1711. Or, stop by the Circulation Desk and ask to speak with a librarian for research assistance. See all of our contact info here: http://purchase.libguides.com/askus

The Library Online

New Library Research Guides

Take a look at our new research by subject guides for Latin American Studies, MSA, Asian Studies, and Languages.

When you do library research, the first place to start is with a Purchase College Library Research by Subject guide.  These appear in the grey box on the Library’s Homepage and under the Research By Subject link in the left hand column.

Why not just Google? A Research by Subject guides is created for Purchase students, by Purchase librarians; it delves deeper than Google and includes library subscription resources you won’t find on the “free web.”  A research guide is a gateway that brings together different types of library resources that you’ll need for your research assignments and senior projects, including:  books from our catalog, scholarly articles in our databases, images, film and video, trustworthy websites, and overview reference resources both in print and ebook format.  Best of all, these resources have been vetted by subject specialists, so you know that you’re getting reliable, quality resources.

We’re updating our guides and adding new ones all the time tailored to the various academic disciplines and majors at Purchase college.  Try it out!  Your research starts here!

New Databases in Education, Science & Technology, LGBT Life, Entrepreneurial Studies and more!

The Library is pleased to announce that we now provide access to 7 new databases through SUNYConnect.  

You can access these from the Library’s homepage. Just go to our Databases List  or the Research by Subject Guide of your choice!

If you are accessing our databases from off campus, make sure you go through the Library’s homepage and log in with your Purchase email username & password when prompted.

Test drive our new databases:

  • Education Full Text
    Provides coverage for a wide range of topics, including adult education, continuing education, literacy standards, multicultural/ethnic education, secondary education, teaching methods and much more.
  • Energy & Power Source
    A comprehensive full-text database designed to support the informational needs of the energy and power industries at all levels.
  • Entrepreneurial Studies Source
    Offers users full text for more than 125 key periodicals, 135 reference books, numerous case studies, thousands of company profiles and over 600 videos with transcripts and related articles from the Harvard Faculty Seminar Series and Vator.TV, one of the world’s largest social network sites for high-tech entrepreneurs.
  • Humanities Full Text
    Provides coverage of feature articles, interviews, bibliographies, obituaries, and original works of fiction, drama, poetry and book reviews, as well as reviews of ballets, dance programs, motion pictures, musicals, radio and television programs, plays, operas and more.
  • LGBT Life with Full Text
    Contains full text for more than 130 of the most important and historically significant LGBT journals, magazines and regional newspapers, as well as more than 170 full-text monographs/books including Classics in Lesbian Studies, Gay Science: The Ethics of Sexual Orientation Research, Handbook of Research with Gay, Lesbian, Bisexual & Transgender Populations, Queer Theory & Social Change, etc.
  • Social Sciences Full Text
    Provides access to a wide assortment of the most important English-language social science journals. Social Sciences Full Text includes full-text articles from hundreds of journals, covering the latest concepts, theories and methods from both applied and theoretical aspects of the social sciences.

Book of the Week: The Diary of Anne Frank

June 12th is the 70th Anniversary of Anne Frank’s 13th birthday, the day she started the diary that detailed her family’s life in hiding from the Nazis during World War II.

In honor of this anniversary, ProQuest is providing a free trial of various records related to the writing and publication of Frank’s diary.  You can read here about the diary’s publication and surrounding controversies.

ProQuest is also making available a database called American Jewish Newspapers, part of the Historical Newspapers collection of databases.  This database provides full text access to Jewish newspapers dating back to the 1850s, including:  The Jewish Advocate, American Hebrew & Jewish Messenger, The American Israelite, and Jewish Exponent.  A great primary source resource for anyone interested in the life of Anne Frank, the Holocaust, Jewish immigration to America, and Jewish history!  American Jewish Newspapers will be available until June 30.

You can also check out a copy of The Diary of Anne Frank from the Library’s main collection, call number DS 135.N6 F73313 1989.

Image of Anne Frank with her diary

EBSCO Databases Back Up and Running

Update: March 28, 2012

All Ebsco databases are functioning again. You can now access Academic Search Complete, PsycInfo, MLA International Bibliography, Art FullText, and all of the library’s subscription databases from Ebsco. These databases were down throughout New York state yesterday due to an error on Ebsco’s part.  

——————————————-

Post from March 27, 2012

All EBSCO databases are down today due to routine maintenance from Ebsco on their site. This means databases including Academic Search Complete, MLA International Bibliography, America History & Life, and Art FullText are not accessible today, but they should be back up and running soon.

If you are looking to use Academic Search Complete, here are some alternative multidisciplinary databases to try:

ProQuest Research Library

Credo Reference

Gale Virtual Reference Library

Opposing Viewpoints

JSTOR

Project Muse

For subject-specific databases, see our Research by Subject Guides for suggestions of other discipline-specific databases that can substitute (or supplement) the databases owned by EBSCO.

New Library Resources: PollStarPro and OPERA America

The library is excited to announce two new resources: PollStarPro and Opera America.

PollStarPro provides worldwide concert tour schedules, ticket sales results, music industry contact directories, and trade news. Find out what musicians are on tour right now, at what venues, and how much they’ve made in ticket sales. You can also browse and search PollStarPro’s image galleries of live performances, backstage photographs, and archival images of older concerts.

OPERA America offers a plethora of information and resources on the international opera field. Once logged in you can access the Production Directory and Career Guide for Opera, proprietary benchmarking statistics on aspects of company operations, human resource issues, information about past productions of a particular opera, peers to contact about commissioning an opera and other topics, data from OPERA America’s many field-wide surveys. and much more.

To access PollStarPro and OPERA America, please email lib.reference@purchase.edu. We will provide you with the username and password.

To see all the library’s hundreds of online databases and resources, please visit: http://purchase.libguides.com/databases

Databases on Trial

The following databases are available on a trial basis:

AP Stylebook
AP Stylebook Online takes everything you love about the Stylebook — A-Z guide to usage, spelling and punctuation — and adds Internet functionality to make it an even more convenient tool. [Trials ends 12/16/11.]

eHRAF Archaeology
A cross-cultural database containing information on world prehistory. This unique, annually-growing eHRAF database is organized by archaeological traditions and the full-text sources are subject-indexed at the paragraph level. eHRAF Archaeology is a unique resource designed to facilitate comparative archaeological studies. [Trial ends 12/31/11.]

eHRAF World Cultures
A cross-cultural database that contains information on all aspects of cultural and social life. The annually-growing eHRAF database is unique in that the information is organized by cultures and ethnic groups and the full-text sources are subject-indexed at the paragraph level. [Trial ends 12/31/11.]

International Index to Performing Arts Full Text (IIPA FT)
The database currently includes half a million records, the majority from the most recent ten years of each journal. IIPA covers a broad spectrum of the arts and entertainment industry – including dance, drama, theater, stagecraft, musical theater, circus performance, opera, pantomime, puppetry, magic, performance art, film, television. [Trial ends 12/3/11.]

LibraryMusicSource.com
Contains over 300,000 pages of sheet music that you can download and print. LibraryMusicScore.com offers a huge selection of vocal music, instrumental solos, piano music, orchestral parts and more. Search for a specific work or browse through the collections by genre or by composer. [Trial ends 12/14/11.]

Paley Centre Seminars
The Paley Center Seminars is an exclusive video collection of interviews with celebrities, television crews, and distinguished panels. It includes 300 filmed seminars from the acclaimed series held by The Paley Center for Media. [Trial ends 12/3/11.]

The Vogue Archive
A complete searchable archive of American Vogue, from the first issue in 1892 to the current month, reproduced in high-resolution color page images. Every page, advertisement, cover and fold-out has been included, with rich indexing enabling you to find images by garment type, designer and brand names. [Trial ends 12/3/11.]

See all of the library’s databases.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 798 other followers