Blog Archives

New Database Trials

The following databases are available on a trial basis:

Arts & Humanities Full Text
The contents reflect the full interdisciplinarity of contemporary study in the arts and humanities, with the inclusion of selected titles from related fields that are also covered by these indexes, such as ethnic and area studies, politics, economics and women’s studies. [Trial ends May 23, 2011.]

Duke University Press Journals
A scholarly collection of 35 journals in the humanities and social sciences. Titles include:  American Literature, Camera Obscura, Eighteenth-Century Life, Journal of Music Theory, Modern Language Quarterly, Philosophical Review, Poetics Today, and Theater. [Trial ends June 23, 2011.]

International Bibliography of Art (IBA)
International Bibliography of Art is the successor to the Bibliography of the History of Art (BHA). Ideal for academic and specialist art libraries, museums, and design firms, this database provides authoritative coverage of international scholarship. [Trial ends May 23, 2011.]

Oxford History of Western Music
The Oxford History of Western Music online offers an unmatched account of the evolution of Western classical music by one of the most prominent and provocative musicologists of our time, Richard Taruskin. [Trial ends April 24, 2011.]

See all of the library’s databases (subscribed or on trial), or find databases by subject.

New Database Trials

The following databases are available on a trial basis:

  • AnthroSource
    An online service of American Anthropological Association, AnthroSource is the premier online portal serving the needs of educators, students, researchers, and practitioners.
  • Art & Architecture Complete
    Designed for use by a diverse audience that includes art scholars, artists, designers, college students, and general researchers. Covers a wide variety of pertinent subjects, including antiques, art and art history, interior and landscape design, and much more. [Trial ends May 9, 2011.]
  • Art Full Text
    Covers fine, decorative, and commercial art as well as photography, folk art, film, architecture, and much more. In recent years, coverage of Latin American, Canadian, Asian, and non-Western art has expanded greatly, along with its material on new artists, contemporary art, exhibition reviews, and feminist criticism. [Trial ends April 1, 2011.]
  • Criminal Justice Abstracts with Full Text
    This resource includes bibliographic records and full text covering essential areas related to criminal justice and criminology. [Trial ends May 9, 2011.]
  • Naxos Spoken Word Library
    An online collection of classic audiobook materials. Literature and poetry ranges from medieval times to the twentieth century, and many newly written texts supplement an ever-expanding range of non-fiction. [Trial ends May 31, 2011.]

See all of the library’s databases, or find databases by subject.

New Streaming Media Databases

The library has recently subscribed to the following databases:

American History in Video
The collection allows students and researchers to analyze historical events, and their presentation over time, through commercial and governmental newsreels, archival footage, public affairs footage, and important documentaries. Covers historical areas from the Revolutionary Era to the Late Twentieth Century.

Naxos Video Library
A performing arts video library with operas, ballets, documentaries, live concerts, and musical tours of historic places. It includes the Naxos DVD label, Opus Arte, Arthaus, Dacapo, and EuroArts. Playlists with customized clips from any video are easily created for educational use. DVD booklets are included with valuable information about the works, artists and composers.

Audio and video resources are accessible with Adobe Flash Player 9 or higher.

Ask a librarian if you have any questions.

New Databases

The Purchase College Library has subscribed to the following databases:

Art Museum Image Gallery
A rich digital resource of art images and related multimedia gathered from the collections of distinguished museums from around the world.

Cambridge Journals Online
Full text of more than 220 journals covering a broad range of subject areas.

Cinema Image Gallery

Presents the history of movie-making through a wide range of high-quality images of films in production: directors working on-set with the stars, set, costume and production design as well as hair and make-up shots and rare behind-the scenes material. It also offers an extensive TV stills archive featuring classic and modern TV: comedies, dramas, series, TV movies, game shows and thousands of pictures of the stars of this medium.

Taylor & Francis Social Science and Humanities Journals

Full text of journals covering subjects such as: Arts & Humanities, Behavioral Science, Business, Management & Economics, Education, Geography, Planning, Urban & Environment, Media, Cultural & Communications Studies, Politics, International Relations & Area Studies, Social Sciences, Strategic, Defense & Security Studies.

To browse through our full list of databases, go to the Databases by Title page.

New Database Trials

Go to the Databases on Trial page to access the following:

ProQuest Sociology
Access to the full-text of more than 180 journals in sociology and social work. This collection provides full-text coverage of many core titles included in Sociological Abstracts and Social Services Abstracts.
[Trial ends November 28, 2009.]

MLA International Bibliography
Provides access to more than two million bibliographic citations to journal articles, books, dissertations, and scholarly Web sites. It indexes materials from 1926 to the present in academic disciplines such as language, literature, folklore, linguistics, literary theory and criticism, and the dramatic arts.
[Trial ends November 21, 2009.]

Art Image Gallery
A rich digital resource of art images and related multimedia gathered from the collections of distinguished museums around the world.
[Trial ends November 30, 2009.]

Art Full Text
Brings researchers the complete text of articles cover to cover from more than 250 important art periodicals, and abstracts and indexing of articles from more than 500. The database encompasses of the gamut of art specialties–architecture to video, folk art to photography. International coverage includes the most important English-language periodicals worldwide, plus others published in French, Italian, German, Japanese, Spanish, Dutch, and Swedish. Besides articles,it also indexes reproductions of works of art that appear in the periodicals covered. Content stretches back over 25 years.
[Trial ends November 30, 2009.]

American History in Video
The collection allows students and researchers to analyze historical events, and their presentation over time, through commercial and governmental newsreels, archival footage, public affairs footage, and important documentaries. This release now provides 1526 titles, with new videos from California Newsreel and PBS, equalling approximately 528 hours.
[Trial ends November 15, 2009.]
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 798 other followers