Book of the Week: Celebrating Women’s History

March is Women’s History Month, so to celebrate, I am re-posting a list of women who were National Book Award Finalists between 1950 and 2011. On the National Book Foundation’s website, you can also watch interviews and read speech transcripts from the award-winning authors.

You can check the  Purchase College Library Catalog to find fiction, essays, and poetry by these and other female authors. Celebrate women’s history month with some powerful voices!

Here’s a sampling (from the Library’s collections) of women writers who won the National Book Award in the past:

Lauren Bacall

Elizabeth Bishop

Beverly Cleary

Joan Didion

Lillian Hellman

Madeleine L’Engle

Joyce Carol Oates

Flannery O’Connor

Mary Oliver

Annie Proulx

Adrienne Rich

Susan Sontag

Alice Walker

Jesmyn Ward

Eudora Welty


Posted on March 14, 2012, in book of the week. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: